Live, love, laugh… And keep on keepin’ on…

9 Sep

This has been one of the strangest years of my life, and for those of you who know me, that’s saying a lot! On the one hand it has been truly amazing – we had one of our best Uganda trips ever; I’ve published a book; have a book in process; another slated for October; have written 3 almost) novels and a screenplay, winning 3 NaNo events. The kids are doing great, my husband’s first book was just published (and it’s awesome, if I do say so myself – and not because I edited it!), and things are really shaping up after years of thinking about “the next thing.” So honestly, it’s been a great year.

On the other hand, so far this year, I’ve done 2 mos of physical therapy for plantar fasciitis; found out I was anemic;  went from 2 migraines a year to 19 in one month between Feb and July (and found out that was caused by the iron supplements!); had a positive blood test for celiac disease, an endoscopic biopsy, and was thankfully told I don’t have it; and then developed a “monster” cataract in my left eye, for which I’ll have surgery in 2 weeks. Again, for those of you who know me, the amazing thing about this list is that I didn’t do anything to cause any of those things! No rock climbing, dropping things on my foot, throwing out my back. Just good, old fashioned, “gotchas.”

Obviously, the first paragraph far outweighs the second, but I would be lying if I said I hadn’t had times of feeling overwhelmed and depressed with the constant barrage of physical ailments. There have been times when my heart cry has been, “Though He slay me, yet will I praise Him.” Because what I know beyond knowing, and what has been shown to be true my entire life, is that God is good. All the time. God is faithful. All the time. God’s strength is sufficient. All the time.

And the question can never be, “Why me?”  The question, especially if you look at what is going on in the world, must be, “Why NOT me?” Why should I be spared, when so many people are going through so much worse? Why should I be spared suffering when I live one of the most blessed lives on the planet? To be honest, sometimes that’s not the way my brain works, although my heart knows it to be true. But truth is truth, and doesn’t require my belief to remain truth. I find that very comforting!

2012 has been very, very good, and pretty bad. Not horrid. Not awful. But, at times… Well, at times it’s sucked. But in the grand scheme of things? God 1, Mayans 0.

Leave a Reply

