Camp NaNoWriMo and migraines – no correlation!

18 Jun

I’m moving along well with the new NaNo novel – 57,104 words before today’s writing. And more importantly, I think the story is coming along well. What I realized in the last few days is that I am really energized up til I cross the 50,000 “win” mark, and then the doldrums hit. For most people doing NaNo, the doldrums hit in weeks 2 and 3… Week 1 is exciting because you’re off and running, and week 4 is exciting, because the end is in sight. 2 and 3? Meh, whatever.

For me, I’m really jazzed to cross that finish line (although I know I’m not finished) and be in house money. So that’s been about 2 weeks. But from that point to about 70,000, that’s when I hit it. That dreaded middle. The “yeah, whatever, let’s get this puppy finished” point. It’s not the the writing gets hard, or the story gets bad – at least that didn’t happen in November. It’s just an enthusiasm gap. Like the background of a needlepoint pillow. Yeah, you gotta do it. Yeah, it’s important to the plot. Yeah, it’s only 20,000 words. Blah blah blah. And I’m writing. I actually wrote nearly 4,000 yesterday, and a pretty good scene in there, if I do say so myself. But it’s not… fun. It’s work.

Aha! Say all the amateur psychologists out there. And yes, I get it. And yes, I’m plugging through it. And yes, since I plan to make this my “mid-life” career (hey, if Paula Dean can get going at 48, I’ve got time!), I know there will be work involved. So I’m really just grousing… Not complaining. And the good news is, at 3-4,000 words a day, it doesn’t take too long to get out of the doldrums!

Now the migraines… That I don’t have an answer for. I got migraines when I was pregnant the second time, which is, apparently, not unusual with 2nd and later pregnancies. I’ve gotten a few scattered throughout the years since, and over the last year, they’ve been increasing in frequency from less than one a year to maybe three. But in the last two months I’ve had them almost exactly 2 weeks apart. I was awakened at 2:30 this morning with one, and I was not a happy camper. I have realized that being even a little dehydrated contributes, but for these last two that wasn’t a factor. I know I get them from even a little wine, so I don’t drink wine. I ate fresh grouper, fresh salad, and homemade bread for dinner. No MSG or anything weird there. This is a mystery I need to solve – and in the meantime, I need some serious meds. No lie.

4 Responses to “Camp NaNoWriMo and migraines – no correlation!”

  1. rhoftonwriting June 19, 2012 at 10:16 am #

    50K is where i took a stumble also and have struggled to get words out since although today i reached 60K the motivation just stops when you “win” which is hard when your goal is to finish a project. Hope the migrane situation gets solved *hands out panedine forte*

    • Jennings June 21, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

      Good going! I’m at 67k, and maybe taking today off. I’ve been doing research on indie book marketing today, and that may be all the work I get to!

      • rhoftonwriting June 22, 2012 at 2:10 am #

        wow thats awesome your at 67K, are you near finishing? Sounds like you’ve been busy.

      • Jennings June 22, 2012 at 8:26 am #

        Should wind up about 85-90k for this first draft. I took yesterday off to do some marketing research for the indie publishing, but I should still finish up by about the 27th if I don’t take anymore days off. How’s it going for you?

Leave a Reply

