Summer with Camp NaNoWriMo!

7 Jun

Yes, folks, I’m back at the writing. It would probably be awesome if I enjoyed exercise in these intense bursts as much as I enjoy writing this way, but alas… My fitness level is way below my “completed projects” level!

Logo

Camp NaNo is going on in June and August. It’s the same as the November “big event” except much smaller, meaning you still write 50,000 words in 30 days, but there aren’t a quarter of a million people plus doing the same thing around the world. There is one forum on the regular NaNo boards for Camp, with many threads, but it’s not nearly as interactive with your fellow WriMos as November. And there’s a Camp NaNo website, where you can find the other 5 in your cabin and post on a message board, update your word count, get pep talk emails, etc.

I LOVE doing the November NaNo because of the comeraderie, and the fact that there are many, many people in my age group and genre(s), and you really get a lot of actual conversation. What I find with Camp is that there are a lot of teens and early twenties, and most in the fantasy/scifi genre. Which is fine, I love seeing what everyone’s doing, but it’s not the same level of interaction and life experience sharing. BUT (big but here, no intentional pun on my second sentence of the post), I really do well with the 30 day sprint format, and really enjoy it.

This time around I’m writing a Christian Civil War era romance. Yeah, I know, go figure! For those of you who know me, you know that I’m not a chick flick watcher, nor a romance novel reader. However, I do enjoy history, and my November NaNo novel was about 1/3 set in the 1680s. The romance part is a little more difficult, although I can do it – it just isn’t what comes naturally. The Christian part is great, being able to fully express my beliefs and my view of our personal relationship with our Father.

So so far so good! I’m at 20,830 words before writing today, and with the pouring rain here in the Sunshine State, I will aim to at least cross 25,000 by the end of the day. My young couple has eloped, and my main male character has volunteered for the 1st South Carolina Infantry, which is going to give him a lot of excitement over the next 20,000 words or so. My main female character is forlorn but leaning on God. The War is about to start. Sounds exciting, huh?!

 

Leave a Reply

