Mind the gap…

30 Jan

I was in Florida for a long weekend to help my mom celebrate her 70th birthday. It was great to see family friends, and visit with my mom, my aunt, and my grandmother – who is 98. We were down in December to celebrate that birthday, too! I’m not sure what we were thinking (not, I guess), but we didn’t take any photos! How lame is that… Me, my mom, my aunt, and my grandmother, and not one picture.

On Wednesday I’m embarking on a spin-off with some NaNoWriMo participants – it’s 60 in 60, meaning 60,000 words in 60 days. Thanks to Leap Year, that’s February and March. I’m actually aiming for 90,000, like in the official NaNoWriMo in November, which would be a complete novel in my genre of thriller/adventure. It’s not nearly as much as in November, when I wrote 88,651 in 23 writing days… So I feel like it’ll be a lot less mentally exhausting!

My problem is that January has been… a gap. It’s just GONE. Kaput. Finis. Sionara. Over. So I don’t have a fully fleshed out plot, which is going to make the first week or so (while I develop one) exciting. I was trying to get my first one completely edited by February 1, but that hasn’t happened, so I’ll also be editing that first week. Oh, and trying to resume an exercise program, which got killed thanks to my plantar fasciitis. I’m feeling kind of… insane right now.

So. February 1 is my do over, my mulligan. My new New Year. It’s the new writing year. The new exercise year. Who knows, maybe there will be other new things after Wednesday, too. You never can tell…!

 

 

Leave a Reply

